The Doors Head Back “Inside the Gold Mine”


The Legendary Band Reissues Its Rare 1972 CompilationWeird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine As Two-CD Set And Digitally

Following Limited Edition Record Store Day Vinyl Release

Available From Rhino On May 19


LOS ANGELES – After releasing a now sold out, limited edition vinyl pressing for Record Store Day 2014, The Doors will now make their legendary, long out-of-print compilation WEIRD SCENES INSIDE THE GOLD MINE available for the first time as a 2-CD set and digitally on May 19. Originally released in 1972, this gold-certified double album was the first compilation to be released after Jim Morrison’s death in 1971.

The 22 songs that appear on the collection provide a wide-ranging introduction to the music recorded between 1967-71 by the original quartet, John Densmore, Robby Krieger, Ray Manzarek and Jim Morrison. The band’s longtime engineer Bruce Botnick remastered the music heard on this reissue, which takes its title from a lyric in “The End.”

Mixing familiar cuts and deep tracks from the band’s six studio albums, WEIRD SCENES INSIDE THE GOLD MINE touches on everything from hits like “Break On Through”  “Love Her Madly,” and “L.A. Woman,” to unexpected delights like “The Spy” from Morrison Hotel and “Running Blue” from The Soft Parade.

Adding yet another dimension to the album’s track list is the inclusion of two stellar b-sides: “Who Scared You” which appeared in March 1969 as the flipside to “Wishful Sinful,” and a cover of Willie Dixon’s “(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further” which was paired with the smash “Love Her Madly” in 1971.

Track Listing

Disc One:

  1. Break On Through
  2. Strange Days
  3. Shaman’s Blues
  4. Love Street
  5. Peace Frog/Blue Sunday
  6. The Wasp (Texas Radio & The Big Beat)
  7. End Of The Night
  8. Love Her Madly
  9. Spanish Caravan
  10. Ship Of Fools
  11. The Spy
  12. The End

Disc Two:

  1. Take It As It Comes
  2. Running Blue
  3. L.A. Woman
  4. Five To One
  5. Who Scared You
  6. (You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further
  7. Riders On The Storm
  8. Maggie McGill
  9. Horse Latitudes
  10. When The Music’s Over